Grid Costs

The end of summer has always been a difficult time for me. It involves reducing my time in the organic free-form patterns of nature and increasing my time in the grid-like patterns of human buildings and organizations. 

This year, for the first time in 28 years, I'll not be returning to an institution as a teacher/administrator. I'll be a student at the design/build school Yestermorrow, but that is, as they say, a whole different kettle of fish. I'll also be teaching an online course in computer programming. What I won't be doing is submitting myself to the grid as I have in the past, and for that I'm very grateful.

I'll miss my classes and the fun interactions that happen in face-to-face teaching. I'll also miss interacting with and learning from other teachers. I won't miss much else though, especially dealing with administrators.

I created the following piece, called Grid Costs, back in late August 2007. My need/desire to escape the grid has been building for quite some time.